The Giddinas Star August 27, 1953

LIONS TO OBSERVE 25TH. ANNIVERSARY

OLD TIME COMMUNITY PROGRAM TO HIGHLIGHT BIG CELEBRATION

In the observance of their 25th. | George Ehlinger 5 - 30 to 6 - 32: anniversary the Giddings Lions Club would like to revive the memory of some twenty years back, when thousands of people were gathered on the Courthouse lawn during the summer months every Friday night for the old time community programs which made the Caesar Krasowski 6 - 39 to 6 - 40. Club, which was organized August 22, 1928 so popular.

This community spirit created by these programs was, no doubt, the beginning of the marvelous progress during the last decade to which Giddings and Lee County point with pride. Organized right before the depression of 1929, the Club, no doubt, had a pretty rough go, but it survived so that it now can celebrate its 25th anniversary.

The Club, although small in number, was always very active and took part in every progressive undertaking. It registered its highest membership in June 1948 when it reached 48 members. The present membership is 27.

When Lee Memorial Hospital was built, the Lions Club paid \$300.00 for the furniture and equipment of one room. In January 1951, individual members donated \$165.00 for the Texas Lions League Recreation Home for Crippled Children at Kerrville. Every Christmas at least \$100.00 is set aside for gifts for the poor and needy.

Dr. H. G. Hertel was the first president of the Club: F. E. Schkade is the only Charter Member still a member of the Club today and he will be awarded the 25 -- year Charter Chevron with his name engraved on it at the celebration Friday night.

Here are the names of the past presidents of the Club during the past 25 years.

W. A. Darter 6 - 32 to 6 - 33; R. J. Hejtmancik 6 - 33 to 6 - 34; F. E. Schkade 6 - 34 to 6 - 35; J. B. Short 6 - 35 to 8 - 35; Steve Wilson 8 - 35 to 6 - 36; R. A. Toler 6 -36 to 6 - 37; Bill Pratho 6 - 37 to 6-38; M. F. Kieke 6-38 to 6-39; O. W. Symmank 7 - 40 to 6 - 41; D. S. Walters 7 - 41 to 6 - 42; J. R. Folkes 7-42 to 6-43; Monroe Hannes 7 - 43 to 6 - 44; Carr Smith 7-45 to 6-45; Rev. W. G. Tillmans 7 - 45 to 9 - 45; Lloyd Luker 9-45 to 6-46; Rev. O. Carnes 7-46 to 11-46; Rev. McLerran 11 - 46 to 3 - 47; John Mowat 3 - 47 to 3 - 48; Dr. L. G. Suchs 4 - 48 to 6 - 49; F. E. Schkade 7 - 49 to 6 - 50 J. W. Dixon 7 - 50 to 6 - 51; W. O. Keaghey 7 - 51 to 6 - 52; Paul Knippa 7 - 52 to 6 - 53; Paul Spitzenberger 7 - 53 to 6 - 54.

Mr. E. M. Collier, Herman Hielscher and W. A. Darter were some of the Charter members; however, they have moved away or have discontinued their membership. A complete list of the Charter members is not available.

At the program Friday night M. F. Kieke, chairman of the program committee will be master of ceremonies. Here are the committees who are already busy to make this program on the Courthouse lawn an outstanding one:

Refreshment Stand Committee: Paul Knippa, E. Kriegel, Monroe Wagner, W. O. Keoghey, D. E. Wilks, D. Fuchs.

Lighting and Speaker Committee: A. W. Siegmund, R. A. Toler, Alvin Orsag.

Stage and Seating Committee: M. Moerbe, Albert Kaltwasser.

Program Committee: 'M. F. Kieke, C. C. Creighton, Wm. L. Pratho, Everyone is invited to join the Lions Club in the celebration of H. G. Hertel, 8 - 1928 to 5 - 1930 their Twenty-Fifth, Anniversary.

